After years of lobbying, the Frank Lloyd Wright Revival Institute (FLWRI) convinced the town of Banff to allow them to rebuild this Prairie-style pavilion, a wood-and-glass recreation facility first built in 1913.
Designed in collaboration with Canadian architect Francis Sullivan, who had briefly worked in Wright’s Oak Park studio, the 200-foot-long gathering place, sited in a clearing near the Bow River, helped showcase the growing popularity of the park site.
A community catch all, the space functioned as a dance hall, gathering place, and even a quartermaster’s store during WWI.
Reflecting its rural setting, the rustic, board-and-batten structure featured cobblestone fireplaces, rows of stained glass in striking geometric patterns, and a set of porte-cochères at the front entry.
While the building earned mixed reviews from locals throughout its lifetime, since it wasn't constructed for year-round recreation, it's restoration has earned support from the community and local government.
The FLWRI is currently fundraising and looking for a suitable site for a recreated pavilion within the park grounds.